FIFTH CONGRESS OF THE FEDERATED STATES OF MICRONESIA

THIRD SPECIAL SESSION, 1988 CONGRESSIONAL BILL NO. 5-334, C.D.1, C.D.2

## PRESIDENTIAL COMM. NO. 5-402

## AN ACT

To further amend title 3 of the Code of the Federated States of Micronesia, as amended by Public Laws Nos. 5-19, 5-47, and 5-53, by further amending section 101, as amended by Public Law No. 5-53, by adding a new section 107, and amending further section 201, as amended by Public Law No. 5-47, for the purpose of bringing the sections into accord with the Constitution and other statutes, and for other purposes.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE CONGRESS OF THE FEDERATED STATES OF MICRONESIA: Section 1. Section 101 of title 3 of the Code of the Federated States of Micronesia, as amended by Public Law No. 5-53, is hereby further amended to read as follows: "Section 101. Membership. 5 The Congress of the Federated States of 6 Micronesia shall be a unicameral National legislature. Unless the Congress is reapportioned, it shall consist of fourteen Members to be known as Senators as follows: 9 (a) four at-large Members, one from each of the 10 States of Kosrae, Pohnpei, Truk, and Yap, who are elected on the basis of State equality to serve for a four-year term. 11 12 (b) ten Members serving for a term of two years 13 and elected on the basis of population as follows: 14 (i) one Member elected from Kosrae as a 15 single-member congressional district; (ii) one Member elected from Yap as a 16 17 single-member congressional district; 18 (iii) three Members elected from Pohnpei, one of whom representing each single-member congressional 19

20

21

22

district; and



(iv) five Members elected from Truk, one of

whom representing each single-member congressional district.

## Public Law No. 5 - 98 CONGRESSIONAL BILL NO. 5-334, C.D.1, C.D.2, 5-408 PRESIDENTIAL COMM. No. 5-408 FSM CONGRESS

1	(2) Single-member congressional districts shall
2	be reapportioned at least every ten years. The first such
3	reapportionment shall be made in 1988."
4	Section 2. Title 3 of the Code of the Federated States of
5	Micronesia is hereby further amended by adding a new section 107
6	to read as follows:
7	"Section 107. Terms of office. Each Senator elected at
8	large shall hold office for a term of four years. Senators
9	elected on the basis of population shall each hold office
10	for a term of two years. The terms of office of all
11	Members of the Congress of the Federated States of
12	Micronesia shall commence at noon of the eleventh day of
13	May following their election and upon taking the oath of
14	office, except as otherwise provided by law. Any Member
15	elected or appointed to fill a vacancy may assume office
16	upon acceptance of his credentials by the Congress and
17	taking of the oath of office, and shall serve only for the
18	unexpired term of the person he succeeds."
19	Section 3. Section 201 of title 3 of the Code of the Federated
20	States of Micronesia, as amended by Public Law No. 5-47, is hereby
21	further amended to read as follows:
22	"Section 201. Sessions in 1980 and thereafter. During the
23	calendar year 1980 and thereafter, the Congress shall meet
24	in two regular sessions commencing on the eleventh day
25	of May and the second Monday in October, unless the



Public Law No. 5 - 98
CONGRESSIONAL BILL NO. 5-334, C.D.1, C.D.2

PRESIDENTIAL COMM. NO. 5-402
FSM CONGRESS

-	
1	Presiding Officer shall set a different date or dates."
2	Section 4. This act shall become law upon approval by the
3	President of the Federated States of Micronesia or upon its becoming
4	law without such approval.
5	
6	December 8, 1988
7	
8	( In Washly =
10	John R. Haglelgam President
11	Federated States of Micronesia
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	

