REPUBLIC OF NAURU

(No. 4 of 1971)

AN ACT

To provide for salaries and allowances for Members of Parliament and Members of Cabinet.

(Certified: 22/3/71)

Be it enacted by the Parliament of Nauru as follows:-

Short title

1. This Act may be cited as the <u>Parliamentary</u>

<u>Salaries and Allowances Act</u> 1971.

Commencement

2. This Act shall be deemed to have come into operation on the first day of February, 1971.

Repeal

3. The Parliamentary Salaries and Allowances Act 1968 is subject to the next succeeding section hereby repealed.

Saving

4. Insofar as any salary or allowances may be lawfully due and owing to any Member of Parliament or Member of Cabinet pursuant to the Parliamentary Salaries and Allowances Act 1968 that Act shall be deemed to remain in force for such time and to such extent only as shall be necessary to enable any such salaries or allowances due and owing to be paid to any such member aforesaid.

Allowances to Members of Parliament

- 5. (1) Every Member of Parliament is entitled to receive an allowance at the rate of one thousand seven hundred and fifty dollars a year.
- (2) Every Member of Parliament other than the President, Ministers of the Cabinet, the Speaker and any Minister of the Cabinet acting as President shall be entitled to an entertainment allowance of one hundred dollars a year.

Allowances to Speaker and Deputy Speaker

- 6. (1) The Speaker is entitled to a Speaker's Allowance at the rate of one thousand five hundred dollars a year.
- (2) In the event that the Speaker shall not be employed on his own account or by any person firm corporation or the Republic and be in receipt of any profits, salary, wages or other remuneration therefor, he is entitled to a Speaker's Allowance at the rate of four thousand dollars a year.
- (3) The Deputy Speaker is entitled to a Deputy Speaker's Allowance at the rate of seven hundred and fifty dollars a year.
- (4) In the event that the Deputy Speaker shall be called upon to act as Speaker during the Speaker's absence from Parliament for any reason, he is entitled in lieu of his allowance under the last preceding subsection to an allowance as Acting Speaker at the rate of three thousand dollars a year during the period he so acts.
- (5) The Speaker is entitled to an entertainment allowance of three hundred dollars a year.
- (6) The allowances provided for in this section are additional to those provided for in the last preceding section.

Salary of the President

- 7. (1) The President is entitled to receive a salary at the rate of twelve thousand dollars a year.
- (2) The President is entitled to receive an entertainment allowance at the rate of three thousand dollars a year.
- (3) A Minister appointed to perform the duties and exercise the functions of the President is entitled to receive an Acting allowance of three thousand dollars a year and an entertainment allowance of eight hundred and seventyfive dollars a year during the period of his ampointment.

(4) The salary and allowances provided for in this section are additional to those provided for in Section 5.

Salary of the Ministers

- 8. (1) A Minister of the Cabinet is entitled to receive a salary at the rate of eight thousand dollars a year.
- (2) A Minister of the Cabinet is entitled to receive an entertainment allowance at the rate of five hundred dollars a year.
- (3) The salary and allowances provided for in this section are additional to those provided for in section 5.

Payment

9. The amounts to which a person is entitled to under this Act shall be paid from the Treasury Fund which is charged accordingly.

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the attached document is a fair print of an Act entitled the Parliamentary Salaries and Allowances Act 1971 that has been made by Parliament and is now presented to the Speaker for his Certificate under Article 47 of the Constitution.

Pursuant to Article 35 (3) and 47 of the Constitution, I, KENAS AROI, Speaker of Parliament, HEREBY CERTIFY that the Parliamentary Salaries and Allowances Act 1971, a copy of which is attached, has been passed by Parliament.

Clerk of Parliament.

22/3/71.

22/3/71.