

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

Gobernment Gazette

Published by Authority

No. 10

13th March 1972

Nauru

G.N.-No. 67/1972

NAURU LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL ORDINANCE 1951-1967

ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS

It is notified for general information that a poll was taken on 11 March, 1972 to elect Councillors for the electoral districts of Aiwo, Yaren, Meneng, Ewa and Anetan.

In other districts the following Councillors were elected unopposed:

In Boe - Hammer DeRoburt

In Buada - Austin Bernicke

In the Districts of - James Agoko Doguape

Anibare, Ijuw and
Anabar

In the districts of - Idarababwin Victor Eoaeo and
Baiti, Nibok Uaboe
and Denigomodu

Robidok Bagewa Buraro Detudamo

The results of the poll and the Councillors declared elected by the Returning Officer on the 11 March, 1972, were as follows:

Electoral District of AIWO

Candidate	*	Total formal first preference votes
		A STATISTICS OF THE STATISTICS
Reginald Roderick Akiri		31
Samuel Edwin Tsitsi		47
Itubwa Amram		16
	To to 1	
	Total	94
	Informal Votes	Ni.1
	Total Votes Cast	94

No candidate received an absolute majority of first preference votes, that is to say a number greater than 47. A second count of the ballot papers was made excluding the candidate who received fewest first preference votes, namely Itubwa Amram.

Each ballot paper counted to Itubwa Amram, was therefore counted to the candidate next in order of the elector's preference as follows:-

Candidate	First preference Votes	Votes on Second Count	Total Formal Votes
Reginald Roderick Akiri	i 31	7 -	38
Samuel Edwin Tsitsi	47	9 🗼 🔞	56
	770	1 W C	
	10	otal Votes Cas	t 94

Candidate Samuel Edwin Tsitsi having obtained an absolute majority of votes was elected.

Nauru

G.N. No. 67/1972 (cont'd)

Electoral District of YAREN

Candidate		Total formal first preference votes
Leane August Makanin Iga Joseph Detsimea Audoa		13 81
	Total	94
	Informal Votes	2
	Total Votes Cast	96

Candidate Joseph Detsimea Audoa having obtained an absolute majority of votes, was elected.

Electoral District of MENENG

Candidate		Total formal first preference votes
Harold Emwan Jeremiah James Ategan Bop David Audi Dabwido		53 62 20
•	Total	134
	Informal Votes	4
	Total Votes Cast	138

No candidate received an absolute majority of first preference votes, that is to say a number greater than 67. A second count of the ballot papers was made excluding the candidate who received fewest first preference votes, namely David Audi Dabwido.

Each ballot paper counted to David Audi Dabwido was therefore counted to the candidate next in order of the elector's preference as follows:-

<u>Candidate</u>	First preference		Total Formal Votes
	votes	Second	
		Count	
Harold Emwan Jeremiah	52	8	60
James Ategan Bop	62	12	74
7			
	Total For	mal Votes Cas	t 134

Candidate James Ategan Bop having obtained an absolute majority of votes, was elected.

Electoral District of ANETAN and EWA

Candidate		Total formal first preference votes
Denuwea Bucky Ika Roy Degoregore		33 49
	Total	82
	Informal Votes	Ní 1
	Total votes cast	82

Candidate Roy Degoregore having obtained an absolute majority of votes, was elected.

H.B. CONNELL, RETURNING OFFICER

No.10

13th March, 1972.

Nauru

G.N. No.68/1972

NAURU LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL ORDINANCE 1951-1967

First Meeting of the Council

Pursuant to Section 9 (1) of the <u>Nauru Local Government Council Oridnance</u> 1951-1967, I hereby determine that the first meeting of the Nauru Local Government Council following the elections conducted on 11 March, 1972, shall commence at 10.00 a.m. on 14th March, 1972, at the Domaneab.

HAMMER DEROBURT, PRESIDENT.