

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

Government Gazette

Published by Authority
Extraordinary

No. 18

5 March 1979

Nauru

G.N. No. 86/1979

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1973 SECTION 16

AIWO BY-ELECTION

I, PETER LIONEL JONES, Returning Officer, HEREBY GIVE NOTICE that pursuant to Section 16 of the Electoral Act 1965-1973 none of the persons nominated as candidates for election as a Member of Parliament for Aiwo, as advised in Gazette Notice No. 75 of 1979 dated 26 February 1979, withdrew their candidature by the closing time of noon on 3 March 1979. I further advise that a ballot was held at 8.30 a.m. on Monday 5 March 1979 to determine the order in which the names of candidates standing for the by-election would appear on the ballot papers and that as a result of the foregoing the candidates for election and the order their names will appear on the ballot paper are as follows, namely:

David Libogomedo AGIR
Theodore Conrad MOSES
August Detonga DEIYE
Reginald Roderick AKIRI
Ririenang Allan THOMA

DATED this 5th day of March 1979

Peter Lionel Jones RETURNING OFFICER

G.N. No. 87/1979

ELECTORAL ACT, 1965-1973

SECTION 18

AIWO BY-ELECTION

DATE AND PLACES OF POLLING

I, PETER LIONEL JONES, Returning Officer, HEREBY GIVE NOTICE in terms of Section 18(2)(b) of the Electoral Act 1965-1973 that a poll will be held for the election of one Member of Parliament to fill the one vacant seat in the Aiwo Constituency on the 10th day of March 1979 between the hours of 1.00 p.m. and 6.00 p.m. The polling place will be

No. 18

5 March 1979

Nauru

G.N. No. 87/1979 (cont'd)

in the foyer of the Bank of Nauru section of the Civic Centre complex in Aiwo.

DATED this 5th day of March 1979

Peter Lionel Jones RETURNING OFFICER

G.N. No. 88/1979

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1973

SECTION 19

APPOINTMENT OF PRESIDING OFFICERS

I, PETER LIONEL JONES, Returning Officer, HEREBY CIVE NOTICE that in terms of Section 19(3) of the Electoral Act 1965-1973 I have appointed the following persons to be presiding officers and poll clerks respectively for the purpose of conducting the poll to be held for the election of one Member of Parliament for the Aiwo Constituency on 10 March 1979 between the hours of 1.00 p.m. and 6.00 p.m.

Presiding Officers

Poll Clerks

Alan Fairbank Diana Mary Carden Tazio Gideon Evangelina Calèb

DATED this 5th day of March 1979

Peter Lionel Jones RETURNING OFFICER

G.N. No. 89/1979

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1973

SECTION 24

APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINEERS

I, PETER LIONEL JONES, Returning Officer, HEREBY GIVE NOTICE that in terms of Section 24(2) of the Electoral Act 1965-1973 I have appointed the following person to assist me in the conduct of the scrutiny of the votes cast in the Parliamentary by-election to be held in Aiwo Constituency on 10 March 1979, namely:

Ian Stoddart WATSON

DATED this 5th day of March 1979

Peter Lionel Jones RETURNING OFFICER