

PAREFAMENTIARY. COUNSELLOR.

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

Government Gazette

Extraordinary

No. 20

12 March 1979

Nauru

G.N. No. 95/1979

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1973

CONSTITUENCY OF AIWO

BY-ELECTION FOR ONE MEMBER IN THE PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF NAURU

I, PETER LIONEL JONES, being the duly appointed Returning Officer for the by-election for a member of the Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Aiwo on 10th March 1979 hereby make the following declaration in accordance with the provisions of Section 27(1)(b) of the Electoral Act 1965-1973 :

Α.	No. of votes cast	193
	No. of Informal votes recorded	1
	No. of Formal votes to consider in	
	determining the result of the	
	Election	192

в. On the count of first preferences, the votes were found to have been cast as follows :

1.	David Libogomedo AGIR	58
2.	Theodore Conrad MOSES	51
з.	Reginald Roderick AKIRI	50
4.	Ririenang Allan THOMA	20
5.	August Detonga DEIYE	13

с. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first preference votes a second count was made of the ballot papers showing August Detonga DEIYE as first preference allocating such papers according to the second preference shown.

As a result, the number of first and second preference votes allocated to each of the remaining four candidates was as follows :

1.	David Libogomedo AGIR	60
2.	Theodore Conrad MOSES	58
3.	Reginald Roderick AKIRI	54
4.	Ririenang Allan THOMA	20

D. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first and second preference votes a third count was made of the ballot papers showing Ririenang Allan THOMA as first or second preference, allocating such papers according to the second or third preferences shown.

.

G.N. No. 95/1979 (cont'd)

As a result, the number of first, second or third preference votes allocated to each of the remaining three candidates was as follows :

1.	Reginald Roderick AKIRI	65
2.	David Libogomedo AGIR	64
3.	Theodore Conrad MOSES	63

E. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first, second and third preference votes a fourth count was made of the ballot papers showing Theodore Conrad MOSÉS as first, second or third preference, allocating such papers according to the second, third or fourth preference shown.

As a result, the number of first second, third or fourth preference votes allocated to each of the remaining two candidates was as follows :

1.	David Libogomedo AGIR	105
2.	Reginald Roderick AKIRI	87

Having thus received an absolute majority of votes cast DAVID LIBOGOMEDO AGIR is declared elected.

GIVEN under my hand this 10th day of March 1979

P. L. Jones RETURNING OFFICER