

Lib. Hansard Secretary:

#### REPUBLIC OF NAURU

# Gobernment Gazette

#### Published by Authority EXTRAORDINARY

No. 58

27th October, 1981.

Nauru.

G.N. No. 337/1981

### REPUBLIC OF NAURU

# ELECTORAL ACT 1965 - 1973 SECTION 28

## DECLARATION OF ELECTION

I, <u>TAMAITI WILLIE STAR</u>, Returning Officer <u>HEREBY GIVE NOTICE</u> that in terms of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965 - 1973, the results of the by-election held on the 24th day of October, 1981 were as follows; namely;

CONSTITUENCY OF Anabar (Comprising the districts of Anabar, Anibare and Iyuw)

Total formal votes cast Total informal votes cast Total votes cast	124 8 132
<u>Candidates</u>	Votes Secured on First Count
Jerry Waidabu	23
Maein Deireragea	53
Ludwig Scotty	4.8

In accordance with the provisions of the Electoral Act 1965 - 1973, Jerry Waidabu having the smallest number of votes cast for first preferences was eliminated from the count of votes and ballot papers on which he was indicated as being the first preference were re-distributed among the remaining candidates in accordance with the second preferences indicated thereon as follows:-

No. 58

#### 27th October, 1981

Nauru.

G.N. No. 337/1981 (Cont'd)

Maein Deireragea

11

Ludwig Scotty

12

and the second count of ballot papers was then carried out resulting as follows :-

Maein Deireragea

64

Ludwig Scotty

60

And Maein Deireragea thus having a total number of ballot-papers exceeding 50% of the total number of ballot papers bearing valid votes, is DECLARED by me to be ELECTED pursuant to Section 28 of Electoral Act 1965-1973, as Member of Parliament for the above constituency at the said by-election.

DATED this 27th day of October, 1981.

T.W. Star RETURNING OFFICER.