

REPUBLIC OF NAURI

Covernment Cazette

Published by Authority

EXTRAORDINARY

No. 53

30th August, 1984.

Nauru.

G.N.No.281/1984.

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1973

DECLARATION OF ELECTION

I, Tamaiti Willie Star, Returning Officer hereby give notice that in terms of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965-1973 the results of the By-Election for the Member of Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Meneng held on the 25th day of August, 1984 were as follows:-

No. of Votes recorded

No. of Informal Votes recorded

Total No. of Formal Votes recorded

282

11

271

First Preference Votes secured by each Candidates are as follows:-

CANDIDATES	NO. OF VOTES
CANON, Frank Sinatra Janecke	56
JEREMIAH, Paul Denebaua	28
BOP, James Dedagenumon Parcelle	74
DABWIDO, Deage Dogurube	4
HARRIS, Alex Dogaben Jimrock	6
STEVEN, Ralph	5
BOTELANGA, Nimrod	60
DABWIDO, David Audi	1
CLODUMAR, Neil Vinci	37

No Candidate having received an absolute majority of first preference votes, a second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth count was made, the ballot papers allocated to the Candidate who received the fewest votes on each occasion being re-allocated to the Candidate next in order of the electors' preference.

As a result, on completion of the eighth count, the total number of first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth preference votes received by candidates was as follows:-

BOP, James Dedagenumon Parcelle 162 BOTELANGA, Nimrod 109

Having received an absolute majority of the votes, Bop, James Dedagenumon Parcelle is elected.

Pursuant to regulations made by Cabinet on the Section 27A, of the Electoral Act, 1965/73, I Tamaiti Willie Star been the duly appointed

No.53

30th August, 1984.

Nauru.

G.N.No.281/1984 (cont'd).

Returning Officer, declare James Dedagenumon Parcelle Bop, having secured the absolute majority of Votes recorded in the eighth Count, elected for the Constituency of Meneng.

DATED this 27th day of August, 1984.

T. W. STAR RETURNING OFFICER