

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

Government Gazette

Published by Authority

No. 52

19th August, 1988

Nauru

G. N. No. 350/1988

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1973

PARLIAMENTARY ELECTION IN THE CONSTITUENCY OF MENENG

It is notified for general information that the Honourable Supreme Court of the Republic in Miscellaneous Cause No. 3(b) of 1988 - Application for Injunction - Bobby Eoe has passed the following order:-

"Order granted restraining the Returning Officer from taking any further steps in the election for one member of Parliament of the Republic of Nauru in the Constitutency of Meneng ordered in the writ for election issued by the Honourable Speaker of Parliament on the 4th day of August, 1988 and notified by the Returning Officer on the same date. Such order shall remain in full force and effect until further order of this Court."

Accordingly the Parliamentary Election in the Constituency of Meneng will not be held on Saturday, 27th day of August, 1988 as notified earlier, pending the Court decision in the said case.

<u>DATED</u> this 19th day of August, Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Eight.

No. 52

19th August, 1988

Nauru

G.N. No. 349/1988

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1973

SECTION 16(3)

WITHDRAWAL OF NOMINATION

It is notified for general information that none of the candidates has withdrawn nominations for the Parliamentary Election to be held in the Constituency of Ubenide, as at 4.30 p.m. on Friday, 19th August, 1988, the last date fixed for withdrawal of nomination. The Election will be held on 26th August, 1988.

It is further notified that the following candidates now stand for election for the Constituency of Ubenide:-

- (1) Royden Basil HIRAM;
- (2) Kennan Ranibok ADEANG;
- (3) Mark Dennis Gourdage KUN;
- (4) Samuel Cagney SCOTTY;
- (5) Andre Godoru NOTTE;
- (6) Paul Lawrence Magiwkieo RIBAUW;
- (7) Francis GAROA;
- (8) Ekedu Rarube ITSIMAERA;
- (9) Lagumot Gagiemen Nimidere HARRIS;
- (10) Joseph Laben HIRAM.

DATED this 19th day of August, Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Eight.

V.S. Mani, RETURNING OFFICER.

No. 52

19th August, 1988

2 A . *

Nauru

G. N. No. 348 /1988

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1973

(Section 24(2)

PARLIAMENTARY ELECTION IN THE CONSTITUENCY OF UBENIDE APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINEERS

<u>I, VENKATESWARA SUBRAMANIAN MANI</u>, Returning Officer, <u>HEREBY GIVE NOTICE</u> that in terms of Section 24(2) of the Electoral Act 1965-1973, have appointed the following persons to assist me in the conduct of the scrutiny of the votes cast in the Parliamentary Election for a member of Parliament of the Republic of Nauru for the Constituency of Ubenide to be held on Friday, 26th August, 1988, namely:-

> Mr Darcy Phillips; Mr D.N. Sharma; Mr Tim Thôma; Mr Peter Demauna; and Mr David Simon.

<u>DATED</u> this 19th day of August, Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Eight.

V. S. Mani RETURNING OFFICER