

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

Covernment Cazette

Published by Authority

EXTRAORDINARY

No. 22

4th March, 1991

Nauru.

G.N. No. 95/1991

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1973

CONSTITUENCY OF BOE

BY-ELECTION FOR ONE MEMBER IN THE PARLIAMENT

OF THE REPUBLIC OF NAURU

I, TAMAITI WILLIE STAR, being the duly appointed Returning Officer for the by-election for a member of the Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Boe on 2nd March, 1991 hereby make the following declaration in accordance with the provisions of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965-1973:

Α.	No	. of Votes Cast . of Informal votes recorded . of Formal votes to consider in	· ·	•	283 4	: :
		termining the result of the Elec	tion	6	279	•
В.		the count of first preferences, have been cast as follows:	the	votes	were	found
· .	1.	August Detonga Deiye	:	52	•	
	2.	Michael Mathias Aroi	:	37		
	3.	Clinton Denton Benjamin	:	62		
	4.	Kelly Deouri Emiu	. :	29		
	5.	Volmer Aloysious Appi	:	41		- e - e - e - e - e - e - e - e - e - e
	6.	Baron Divavesi Waqa	:	58		
						· · ·

С.

No candidate having received an absolute majority of first preference votes a second count was made of the ballot papers showing MR.KELLY DEOURI EMIU as first preference allocating such Ballot papers according to the second preference shown.

As a result, the number of firtst and second preference votes allocated to each of the remaining five candidates was as follows:

1.	August Detonga Deiye	:	57
2.	Michael Mathias Aroi		46
3.	Clinton Denton Benjamin	:	66
4.	Volmer Aloysious Appi	:	49
5.	Baron Divavesi Waqa		61

4th March, 1991

G.N. No. 95/1991 (cont'd)

No. 22

D.

Е.

F.

No candidate having received an absolute majority of first and scond preference votes a third count was made of the ballot papers showing MR.MICHAEL MATHIAS AROI as first or second preference, allocating such papers according to the second or third preferences, shown.

As a result, the number of first, scond or third preference votes allocated to each of the remaining four candidates was as follows:

1.	August Detonga Deiye		84
2.	Clinton Denton Benjamin	0	67
3.	Volmer Aloysious Appi	6 8	54
4.	Baron Divavesi Waqa	10 10	74

No candidate having received an absolute majority of first, second and third preference votes a fourth count was made of the ballot papers showing MR.VOLMER ALOYSIOUS APPI as first, second or third preference, allocating such paper according to the second, third or fourth preference shown.

As a result, the number of first, second, third or fourth preference votes allocated to each of the remaining three candiddates was as follows:

1.	August Detonga	Deiye		115
2.	Clinton Denton	Benjamin		78
3.	Baron Divavesi	Waqa	9 0	86

No candidate having received an absolute majority of first, second, third and fourth preference votes a fifth count was made of the ballot papers showing MR.CLINTON DENTON BENJAMIN as first, second, third or fourth preference, allocating such papers according to the second, third, fourth or fifth preference shown.

As a result, the number of first second, third, fourth or fifth preference votes allocated to each of the remaining two candidates was as follows:

1.	August Detonga	Deiye	8 8	156
2.	Baron Divavesi	Waqa	:	123

Having thus received an absolute marjority of votes cast MR.AUGUST DETONGA DEIYE was declared elected.

GIVEN under my hand this 2nd day of March 1991.

T.W. STAR RETURNING OFFICER