

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

Government Gazette

Published by Authority

EXTRAORDINARY

11th July 1994

No.41 G.N.No.227/1994.

REPUBLIC OF NAURU ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1973 SECTION 28 PARLIAMENTARY BY-ELECTION FOR THE CONSTITUENCY OF UBENIDE

DECLARATION OF RESULT

I, KELLY DEOURI EMIU, being the duly appointed Returning Officer for the by-election for a member of the Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Ubenide on 9 July 1994 hereby make the following declaration in accordance with the provisions of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965-1973:-

Α.	No. of Votes Cast	622
	No. of Informal votes recorded	20
	No. of Formal votes to consider	
	in determining the result	
	of the By-Election	602

B. On the count of first preferences, the votes were found to have been cast as follows:

	1.	Aloysius Edrick Arobao Iyomogo Amwano	120
	2.	Frederick William Henry Pitcher	55
	З.	Russell Effaney Kun	20
	4.	Alf Diringa Itsimaera	66
	5.	Joseph Laben Hiram	15
	6.	Paul Lawrence Maginkieo Ribauw	24
		Charles Lanza Dabana	3
	8.	Lagumot Gagiemen Nimedere Harris	128
		Royden BasilHiram	31
	10.	Timothy Robidok Detudamo	140
•		TOTAL	602

C. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first preference votes a second count was made of the ballot papers showing MR. CHARLES LANZA DABANA as first preference allocating such Ballot papers according to the second preference shown.

4.

Nauru

11th July 1994

No.41

G.N.No.227/1994.(cont'd)

As a result, the number of first and second preference votes allocated to each of the remaining nine candidates were as follows:-

1.	Aloysius Edrick Arobao Iyomogo Amwano	121
2.	Frederick William Henry Pitcher	55
	Russell Effaney Kun	20
4.	Alf Diringa Itsimaera	66
	Joseph Laben Hiram	15
6.	Paul Lawrence Maginkieo Ribauw	25
	Lagumot Gagiemen Nimedere Harris	128
	Royden BasilHiram	32
9.	Timothy Robidok Detudamo	140
	TOTAL	602

D. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first preference votes, a third count was made and the ballot papers showing MR. JOSEPH LABEN HIRAM as first or second preference, allocating such papers according to the second or third preferences, shown.

As a result, the number of first, second or third preference votes allocated to each of the remaining eight candidates were as follows:-

1.	Aloysius Edrick Arobao Iyomogo Amwano	121
2.	Frederick William Henry Pitcher	58
3.	Russell Effaney Kun	21
4.	Alf Diringa Itsimaera	67
5.	Paul Lawrence Maginkieo Ribauw	25
	Lagumot Gagiemen Nimedere Harris	134
7.	Royden Basil Hiram	33
8.	Timothy Robidok Detudamo	143
	TOTAL	602

E. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first, second and third preference votes a fourth count was made of the ballot papers showing MR. RUSSELL EFFANEY KUN as first, second or third preference, allocating such papers according to the second, third or fourth preference shown.

As a result, the number of first, second, third or fourth preference votes allocated to each of the remaining seven candidates were as follows:-

1.	Aloysius Edrick Arobao Iyomogo Amwano	122	
2.	Frederick William Henry Pitcher	59	
3.	Alf Diringa Itsimaera	68	
4.	Paul Lawrence Maginkieo Ribauw	29	
5.	Lagumot Gagiemen Nimedere Harris	139	
6.	Royden Basil Hiram	35	
7.	Timothy Robidok Detudamo	150	
			-
	ጥርጥል፤	602	

TOTAL

002

11th July 1994

G.N.No.227/1994.(cont'd)

No. 41

F.

No candidate having received an absolute majority of first, second, third preference votes, a fourth count was made and the ballot papers showing MR. PAUL LAWRENCE MAGINKIEO RIBAUW as first or second preference, allocating such papers according to the second or third preferences, shown.

Nauru

As a result, the number of first second, third, fourth or fifth preference votes allocated to each of the remaining six candidates were as follows:-

1.	Aloysius Edrick Arobao Iyomogo Amwano	126
2.	Frederick William Henry Pitcher	63
3.	Alf Dirínga Itsimaera	73
4.	Lagumot Gagiemen Nimedere Harris	150
5.	Royden Basil Hiram	37
6.	Timothy Robidok Detudamo	153
	TOTAL	602

G. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first, second, third and fourth preference votes a sixth count was made of the ballot papers showing MR. ROYDEN BASIL HIRAM as first, second, third or fourth preference, allocating such papers according to the second, third, fourth or fifth preference shown.

As a result, the number of first second, third, fourth or fifth preference votes allocated to each of the remaining five candidates were as follows:-

1.	Aloysius Edrick Arobao Iyomogo Amwano	141
2.	Frederick William Henry Pitcher	66
3.	Alf Diringa Itsimaera	78
4.	Lagumot Gagiemen Nimedere Harris	156
6.	Timothy Robidok Detudamo	161
	TOTAL	602

Н.

No candidate having received an absolute majority of first, "second, third and fourth preference votes a seventh count was made of the ballot papers showing MR. FREDERICK WILLIAM HENRY PITCHER as first, second, third or fourth preference, allocating such papers according to the second, third, fourth or fifth preference shown.

As a result, the number of first second, third, fourth or fifth preference votes allocated to each of the remaining five candidates were as follows:-

No.4	11 11th July 1994		Nauru
G.N	No.227/1994.(cont'd)		
	1. Aloysius Edrick Arobao Iyomogo Amv	vano 162	
	2. Alf Diringa Itsimaera	.91	
	3. Lagumot Gagiemen Nimedere Harris	181	
	4. Timothy Robidok Detudamo	168	
	TOTAL	602	
I.	No candidate having received an absolu	ite majority of fi	rst.
	second, third and fourth preference vo		
â	was made of the ballot papers showing		
<i>F</i>	ITSIMAERA as first, second, third or f		
	allocating such papers according to the fourth or fifth preference shown.	ie secona, chira,	
	As a result, the number of first secon		
	or fifth preference votes allocated to three candidates were as follows:-	each of the rema:	luing
	chief candidates were as forrows.		
	1. Aloysius Edrick Arobao Iyomogo Amv		
	2. Lagumot Gagiemen Nimedere Harris	214	
	3. Timothy Robidok Detudamo	187	
	TOTAL	602	
J.	No candidate having received an absolu	ite majority of fi	rst.
	second, third and fourth preference vo		
	was made of the ballot papers showing		ЭК
	DETUDAMO as first, second, third or fo		
	allocating such papers according to the fourth or fifth preference shown.	ie secona, tnira,	
	fourth of fifth preference shown.		
	As a result, the number of first secon		
	or fifth preference votes allocated to	each of the rema:	ining
	two candidates were as follows:-		
	1. Aloysius Edrick Arobao Iyomogo Amv	vano 296	
•	2. Lagumot Gagiemen Nimedere Harris	306	
	TOTAL	602	
	101AU		
	ng thus received an absolute majority o MOT GAGIEMEN NIMEDERE HARRIS was declar		
LAGU	OOT GNOTENEW WINEBERE HAKKID MAS GOULA	leu electeu.	
CTVP	N under my hand this 9 day of July, Nim	neteen Hundred and	
	ty-Four.		

٠

KELLY D EMIU RETURNING OFFICER