

Parliamentary Counsellar

REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY EXTRAORDINARY

No.49	29th July 1996	Nauru
42 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2		
G.N.No. 298/1996		

REPUBLIC OF NAURU ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1992 SECTION 28 PARLIAMENTARY BY-ELECTION FOR THE CONSTITUENCY OF BUADA DECLARATION OF RESULT

I, ANGIE ITSIMAERA, being the duly appointed Returning Officer for the by-election for a Member of the Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Buada on 27th July, 1996 hereby make the following declaration in accordance with the provisions of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 11965-1992:-

A.	No of Votes Cast:	203
	No. of Informal votes to recorded	001
	No. of Formal votes to consider	
	in determining the result:	202

B. On the count of first preferences, the votes were found to have been cast as follows:-

1.	Rayong Anton Borben Itsimaera	21	
2.	Lyn Terangi Adam	38	
3.	Nelson De-Burma Tamakin	39	
4.	Vinson Franco Detenamo	85	
5.	Miniva Depaune	19	
	TOTAL	202	

C. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first preference votes a second count was made of the ballot papers showing Ms Miniva Depaune as first preference allocating such Ballot papers according to the second preference shown.

As a result, the number of first and second preference votes allocated to each of the remaining four candidates were as follows:-

29th July, 1996		Nauru.
8/1996 (cont'd)		
Rayong Anton Borben Itsimaera	25	
	45	
Nelson De-Burma Tamakin	43	
Vinson Franco Detenamo	89	
- TOTAI	202	
TOTAL	202	
	8/1996 (cont'd) Rayong Anton Borben Itsimaera Lyn Terangi Adam Nelson De-Burma Tamakin	Rayong Anton Borben Itsimaera 25 Lyn Terangi Adam 45 Nelson De-Burma Tamakin 43 Vinson Franco Detenamo 89

D. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first and second preference votes a third count was made of the ballot papers showing Mr. Rayong Anton Borben Itsimaera as first or second preference, allocating such Ballot papers according to the second or third preferences shown,

As a result, the number of first, second or third preference votes allocated to each of the remaining three candidates were as follows:-

1.	Lyn Terangi Adam	55
2.	Nelson De-BurmaTamakin	50
3.	Vinson Franco Detenamo	97
	TOTAL	202

E. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first, second and third preference votes a fourth count was made of the ballot papers showing Mr. Nelson De-Burma Tamakin as first, second, third or fourth preference allocating such Ballot papers according to the second, third, or fourth preferences show.

As result, the number of first, second, third or fourth preference votes allocated to each of the remaining two candidates were as follows:-

1.	Lyn Terangi Adam	93
2.	Vinson Franco Detenamo	109
	TOTAL	202

Having thus received an absolute majority of votes cast MR. VINSON FRANCO DETENAMO was declared elected.

GIVEN under my hand this 27th day of July, Nineteen Hundred and Ninety-six.

ANGIE ITSIMAERA
RETURNING OFFICER