

## REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY EXTRAORDINARY

No.32	27th March 1997	Nauru
	### ##################################	
G.N.No. 142/1997		

### NAURU ISLAND COUNCIL ACT, 1992 SECTION 22 CLAUSE 23 OF SCHEDULE 2

### BY-ELECTION HELD ON 22ND MARCH 1997 TO ELECT A COUNCILLOR FOR THE GROUP OF DISTRICTS COMPRISING THE DISTRICTS OF ANIBARE, IJUW AND ANABAR

ANIBARE, IJUW AND ANABAR							
DECLARATION OF RESULT							
ELECTORAL DISTRICT COMPRISING THE GROUP OF DISTRICTS OF ANIBARE, IJUW AND ANABAR							
No. of Votes Cast	:	209					
No. of Informal Votes Cast	:	3					
No. of Formal Votes Cast	:	206					
Minimum number of Formal Votes required to be declared elected		104					
Total No. of Enrolled Voters	:	280					
1ST COUNT							
On the count of first preferences, th	ie votes we	re found to have been cast as follows:-					
		FIRST PREFERENCE					
1.) Johnny Panser Olsson	:	16					
2.) Neil Doebweb Tagamoun	:	37					
3.) Jeffrey Scotty	:	30					

No.32	2	27th	n March 1997	Nauru		
G.N.No. 142/1997 (cont'd)						
4.)	Christopher Agiar Quadina	:	25			
5.)	Ande Sankey Dabuae	:	98			
	TOTAL	:	206			

No candidate received an absolute majority of 1st Preference votes. Therefore Mr. Johnny Panser Olsson who has received the fewest first preference votes is declared a defeated candidate and the Ballot Papers counted to Mr. Johnny Panser Olsson were distributed amongst the non-defeated Candidates next in order of the Voters' Preference (i.e. according to the second preference marked) and the Total number of voters given to each non-defeated Candidate was ascertained as follows:-

#### 2ND COUNT

# 1ST PREF + 2ND PREFERENCE = TOTAL

			1ST PREF + 2ND PREFERENCE = TOTAL
1.)	Neil Doebweb Tagamoun	:	37 + 6 = 43
2.)	Jeffrey Scotty	:	30 + 0 = 30
3.)	Christopher Agiar Quadina	:	25 + 2 = 27
4.)	Ande Sankey Dabuae	:	98 + 8 = <b>106</b>
	TOTAL	:	206

Mr. Ande Sankey Dabuae having received an absolute majority of first preference + second Preference votes is declared elected Councillor for the group of Districts, comprising the Districts of Anibare, Ijuw and Anabar.

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND THIS THE 22ND DAY OF MARCH 1997

S.B. HULKAR RETURNING OFFICER