

# REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY

No.75

3rd September 1997

Nauru

G.N.No.342/1997

### NAURU ISLAND COUNCIL ACT, 1992 BY-ELECTION FOR THE GROUP OF DISTRICTS COMPRISING THE DISTRICTS OF BAITSI, UABOE, NIBOK AND DENIGOMODU

#### NOTICE UNDER CLAUSE 4 AND CLAUSE 10(7) OF SCHEDULE 2 TO THE NAURU ISLAND COUNCIL ACT, 1992

I, S.B.HULKAR, RETURNING OFFICER, DO HEREBY notify for General Information that no candidate withdrew his/her Notice of Candidature at the close of the last date for withdrawal, i.e. Saturday, 30th August, 1997 and that the following candidates, whose Notices of Candidature have been found to be formal, are in the field for the By-Election to elect a Councillor of the Nauru Island Council for the group of Districts comprising the Districts of Baitsi, Uaboe, Nibok and Denigomodu.

DISTRICT	NAME OF CANDIDATE	SECONDED BY
Baitsi	Valdon Kape Dowiyogo	Adonis Gioura
Uaboe	Tim Holt Dekarube	Elizabeth Dekarube
Denigomodu	Royden Basil Hiram	Graham Hiram Jean Hiram Libanda Eongen Patton Keppa

As only one (1) Councillor is to be elected whereas three (3) candidates are in the contest, I direct that the By-Election shall take place on Saturday, 13th September, 1997, from 01:00 pm until 06:00pm at the Polling Places mentioned below:-

### **DISTRICT** Baitsi Uaboe

Denigomodu

Nibok

#### PLACE OF POLLING Baitsi Catchment Shed Domaneab Nibok Infant School Denigomodu Primary School

DATED this 30th day of August, 1997

## S.B.HULKAR <u>RETURNING OFFICER</u>