

REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

Published by Authority EXTRAORDINARY

No.79	16th September 1997	Nauru			

GN No. 352 /1007					

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

NAURU ISLAND COUNCIL ACT, 1992

SECTION 22 CLAUSE 23 OF SCHEDULE 2

BY-ELECTION HELD ON 13TH SEPTEMBER 1997 TO ELECT

A COUNCILLOR FOR THE GROUP OF DISTRICTS

COMPRISING THE DISTRICTS OF

BAITSI, UABOE, NIBOK AND DENIGOMODU

DECLARATION OF RESULT

ELECTORAL DISTRICT COMPRISING THE GROUP OF DISTRICTS OF BAITSI, UABOE, NIBOK AND DENIGOMODU

......445.....

No. of Votes Cast

No. of Informal Votes Cast

non-defeated Candidate was ascertained as follows:-

No. of Formal Votes Cast		:	435		
Minimum number of Formal Votes required to be declared elected		:	219		
Total No. of Enrolled Voters		•	793		
<u>IST</u>	COUNT				
On the count of first preferences, the votes were found to have been cast as follows:-					
			FIRST PREFERENCE		
1)	Valdon Kape Dowiyogo		FIRST PREFERENCE183		
1) 2)	Valdon Kape Dowiyogo Tim Holt Dekarube				
•	, , ,		183		
2)	Tim Holt Dekarube Royden Basil Hiram	TAL:			

has received the fewest first preference votes is declared a defeated candidate and the Ballot Papers counted to Mr. Tim Holt Dekarube were distributed amongst the non-defeated Candidates next in order of the Voters' Preference (i.e. according to the second preference marked) and the Total number of votes given to each

No. 79	9	16th September 1997		
G.N.1	No. 352 /1997 (cont'd)			
2ND	COUNT			
		IST PRE	F + 2ND PREFERENCE = TOTAL	
1)	Valdon Kape Dowiyogo		183+38=221	
2)	Royden Basil Hiram		190+24=214	
	I	OTAL:	435	
votes		-	rity of first preference + Second Preference comprising the Districts of Baitsi, Uaboe, Nibok	
GIVE	EN UNDER MAY HAND THIS I	HE 13TH DAY OF SEPT	EMBER, 1997.	
			S.B. HULKAR	

RETURNING OFFICER