

REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE Published by Authority EXTRAORDINARY

NO.18. ys .	,72"	23rd February 1998	Nauru
GN No. 68	/1008		``

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1992 SECTION 28

PARLIAMENTARY BY-ELECTION FOR THE CONSTITUENCY OF BOE

DECLARATION OF RESULT

I, KELLY DEOURI EMIU, being the duly appointed Returning Officer for the By-Election for a Member of the Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Boe on 21st February 1998 hereby make the following declaration in accordance with the provisions of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965-1992:-

176

Α.		F. Votes Cast: 1/1/11/14 F. Votes Cast: 1/1/14/17/13/17 F. Trifformal votes recorded: F. Formal votes to consider	354 2
-		ermining the result:	352
B.	On the count of	f first preferences, the votes were fo	und to have been cast as follows:-
	1.	AROI, Michael Mathias	57
	2.	BENJAMIN, Clinton Denton	137
	3.	CAIN, Ross Melvin	87
	4.	WAQA, Baron Divavesi	71
		TOTAL	352

C. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first preference votes a second count was made of the ballot papers showing Michael Mathias Aroi as first preference allocating such Ballot papers according to the second preferences shown.

As a result, the number of first and second preference votes allocated to each of the three candidates were as follows:-

1.	BENJAMIN, Clinton Denton	148
2.	CAIN, Ross Melvin	119
3.	WAQA, Baron Divavesi	85
		70 7+1-, b
•	TOTAL	352

~~~~~~~~~			
NO. 18		23rd February 1998	Nauru
G.N. No	68 /1998 (cont'd)		

D. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first and second preference votes, a third count was made of the ballot papers showing Baron Divavesi Waqa as first or second preference, allocating such Ballot papers according to the third preference shown.

As a result, the number of first, second or third preference votes allocated to each of the remaining two candidates were as follows:-

1.	BENJAMIN, Clinton	169
<b>2</b> .	CAIN, Ross Melyin	183
		*************
	TOTAL	352

Having thus received an absolute majority of votes cast Ross Melvin Cain was declared elected.

**GIVEN** under my hand this Twenty First day of February, Nineteen Hundred and Ninety-Eight

#### KELLY D. EMIU RETURNING OFFICER

G.N. No 69 /1998

### ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1992 SECTION 28

### PARLIAMENTARY BY-ELECTION FOR THE CONSTITUENCY OF UBENIDE

### **DECLARATION OF RESULT**

1, KELLY DEOURI EM1U, being the duly appointed Returning Officer for the By-Election for a Member of the Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Ubenide on 21st February 1998 hereby make the following declaration in accordance with the provisions of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965-1992:-

A.	No. of Votes Cast:	708
	No. of Informal votes recorded:	5
	No. of Formal votes to consider	
	in determining the result:	703

B. On the count of first preferences, the votes were found to have been cast as follows:-

1.	AMWANO, Aloysius Iyomago	301
2.	HARRIS, Lagumot Gagiemen	289
3.	HIRAM, Royden	57
4.	RIBAUW. Paul Maginkieo	56
	•	
	TOTAL	703

NO.18	<i>y</i>	23rd February 1998	Nauru , s
	69 /1998 (cont'd)		

No candidate having received an absolute majority of first preferences votes a second count was made of the ballot papers showing Paul Lawrence Ribauw as first preference allocating such Ballot papers according to the second preference shown.

As a result, the number of first, second, third or fourth preference votes allocated to the remaining candidate were as follows:-

		IUIAL	703
*	*	TOTAL	703
3.	HIRAM, Royden		/1
2	TITO A BY Danielon	_	71
2.	HARRIS, Lagumot Gagiemen		307
1.			343
1	AMWANO, Aloysii	re Ivomago	325

D. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first and second preference votes a third count was made of the ballot papers showing Royden Hiram as a first or second preference, allocating such Ballot papers according to the third preference shown.

26 71.01 J. As a result, the number of first, second or third preference votes allocated to each of the remaining two candidates were as follows:-

1.	out has been used by brush of AMWANO, Aloysius Iyomago	: our description of the second	** 47
2.	HARRIS, Lagumot Gagiemen	,333	
	TOTAL	703	

Having thus received an absolute majority of votes cast Aloysius Iyomago Amwano was declared elected.

GIVEN under my hand this Twenty First day of February, Nineteen Hundred and Ninety-Eight.

No.18			23rd February 1998	Nauru
G.N.No.	70	/1998		

### ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1992 SECTION 28

### PARLIAMENTARY BY-ELECTION FOR THE CONSTITUENCY OF YAREN

### **DECLARATION OF RESULT**

I, KELLY DEOURI EMIU, being the duly appointed Returning Officer for the By-Election for a Member of the Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Yaren on 21st February 1998 hereby make the following declaration in accordance with the provisions of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965-1992:-

			* .	
<b>A</b> .	No, o	of Votes Cast:	256 · · ·	
	No. o	of Informal votes recorded	2	
	No. o	of Formal votes to consider		
	in De	termining the result:	254	:
B.	On th	e count of first preferences, the	e votes were found to h	nave been cast as follows:-
	1	AUDOA, Anthony D.	129	
	2.	EKWONA, Pres-Nimes	69	
	3.	KEKE, Leo D.	56	
		TOTAL	254	

Having thus received an absolute majority of votes cast Anthony Kododo Audoa was declared elected.

GIVEN under my hand this Twenty First day of February, Nineteen Hundred and Ninety-Eight.

## PARLIAMENTARY BY-ELECTION FOR THE CONSTITUENCY OF BUADA

### -DECLARATION OF RESULT

I, KELLY DEOURI EMIU, being the duly appointed Returning Officer for the By-Election for a Member of the Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Buada on 21st February 1998 hereby make the following declaration in accordance with the provisions of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965-1992:-

A.	No. o	of Votes Cast:	246	7 f Here				
	No. o	of Informal votes recorded	0	of Little .				
	No. o	of Formal votes to consider		of Forma 16 et to consuler				
	in De	etermining the result:	246	Territoring the result				
В.	On the count of first preferences, the votes were found to have been cast as follows:-							
	1.	DETENAMO, Ivor	-90	temper and the second				
	2.	KUN, Rueben James	156	, A				
		TOTAL	246	•				

Having thus received an absolute majority of votes cast Reuben James Kun was declared elected.

GIVEN under my hand this Twenty First day of February, Nineteen Hundred and Ninety-Eight.

No.18			22-d Foberer, 1008	Naum
1.0.10			23rd February 1998	1 700 101 01
G.N.No.		/1998		1

### ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1992 SECTION 28

### PARLIAMENTARY BY-ELECTION FOR THE CONSTITUENCY OF MENENG

#### **DECLARATION OF RESULT**

I, KELLY DEOURI EMIU, being the duly appointed Returning Officer for the By-Election for a Member of the Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Meneng on 21st February 1998 hereby make the following declaration in accordance with the provisions of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965-1992:-

A.	No. of Votes Cast:	491				
	No. of Informal votes recorded	4				
	No. of Formal votes to consider					
	in Determining the result:	487	ı			
B.	On the count of first preferences, the votes were found to have been cast as follows:-					
	1. <b>BOP</b> , Joshua Porthos	28				
	2. <b>BOTELANGA</b> , Nimrod	247				
	3. <b>BRECHTEFELD</b> , John	15				
	4. <b>CLODUMAR</b> , Vinci Neil	il 197				
	<b>=-4</b> :					
	TOTAL	487				
		v				

Having thus received an absolute majority of votes cast Nimrod Botelanga was declared elected.

GIVEN under my hand this Twenty First day of February, Nineteen Hundred and Ninety-Eight.