REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY EXTRAORDINARY

No 50	27th July, 1998	Nauru

G.N.No 205/1998

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1992 SECTION

PARLIAMENTARY BY-ELECTION FOR THE CONSTITUENCY OF AIWO

DECLARATION OF RESULT

I, ANGIE ITSIMAERA, being the duly appointed Returning Officer for the by -election for a Member of the Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Aiwo on 25th July, 1998 hereby make the following declaration in accordance with the provisions of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965-1992:-

A. No. of Votes Cast: 293
No. of Informal votes recorded:- 10
No. of Formal votes to consider
in determining the result: 283

B. On the count of first preferences, the votes were found to have been cast as follows:-

1. BILL, Richard Dugan 94
2. HARRIS, Rene Reynaldo 189

TOTAL 283

Having thus received an absolute majority of votes cast RENE REYNALDO, HARRIS was declared elected.

GIVEN under my hand this Twenty Fifth day of July, Nineteen Hundred and Ninety-Eight.

ANGIE ITSIMAERA
RETURNING OFFICER