

REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY EXTRAORDINARY

No.8

_____ 24th January, 2005

Nauru

• · G.N.No. 24/2005

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1992 SECTION 28

PARLIAMENTARY BY-ELECTION FOR THE **CONSTITUENCY OF EWA/ANETAN**

DECLARATION OF RESULT

I, JARDEN KEPHAS, being the duly appointed Returning Officer for the By-Election for a Member of the Parliament of Nauru for the Constituency of Ewa/Anetan on 22nd January 2005 hereby make the following **declaration** in accordance with the provisions of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965-1992:-

A.	Total formal votes cast	448
	Total informal votes cast	8
	Total votes cast	456

B. On the count of first preferences, the votes were found to have been cast as follows:

1.	VICTORY ANEBENI JAPHET	7
	DARRYLE ENEIWA TOM	26
3.	RIMONE TOM	26
4.	ARABELLA SRA DETENAMO	10
5.	ERNEST GISEPHRI STEPHEN	91
6.	CYRIL BURAMEN	155
7.	REMY GERARD NAMADUK	133
	TOTAL	448

C. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first preference votes a second count was made of the ballot papers showing Victory Anebeni Japhet as first preference, allocating such Ballot papers according to the second preference shown.

No.8	24 th January, 2005	Nauru

-2-

G.N.No. 24/2005 (Cont'd)

As a result, the number of first and second preference votes allocated to each of the remaining six candidates were as follows:-

1.	DARRYLE ENEIWA TOM	29
2.	RIMONE TOM	26
3.	ARABELLA SRA DETENAMO	11
4.	ERNEST GISEPHRI STEPHEN	92
5.	CYRIL BURAMEN	156
6.	REMY GERARD NAMADUK	134
	TOTAL	448

D. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first and second preference votes a third count was made of the ballot papers showing **Arabella Sra Detenamo** as first or second preference, allocating such Ballot papers according to the second or third preference shown.

As a result, the number of first and second or third preference votes allocated to each of the remaining five candidates were as follows:-

1.	DARRYLE ENEIWA TOM	30
2.	RIMONE TOM	29
3.	ERNEST GISEPHRI STEPHEN	96
4.	CYRIL BURAMEN	157
5.	REMY GERARD NAMADUK	136
	TOTAL	448

E. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first preference votes a second count was made of the ballot papers showing Rimone **Tom** as second or third preference allocating such Ballot papers according to the third or fourth preference shown.

No.8	24 th January, 2005	Nauru

G.N.No. 24/2005 (Cont'd)

As a result, the number of first and second preference votes allocated to each of the remaining four candidates were as follows:-

1.	DARRYLE ENEIWA TOM	45
2.	ERNEST GISEPHRI STEPHEN	101
3.	CYRIL BURAMEN	165
4.	REMY GERARD NAMADUK	137
	TOTAL	448

F. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first preference votes a second count was made of the ballot papers showing **Darryle Eneiwa Tom** as third and fourth preference allocating such Ballot papers according to the fourth or fifth preference shown.

As a result, the number of first and second preference votes allocated to each of the remaining three candidates were as follows:-

2.	ERNEST GISEPHRI STEPHEN CYRIL BURAMEN REMY GERARD NAMADUK	122 180 146
	TOTAL	448

G. No candidate having received an absolute majority of first preference votes a second count was made of the ballot papers showing **Ernest Gisephri Stephen** as fourth and fifth preference allocating such Ballot papers according to the fifth or sixth preference shown.

As a result, the number of first and second preference votes allocated to each of the remaining two candidates were as follows:-

 CYRIL BURAMEN REMY GERARD NAMADUK	284 164
TOTAL	448

Having thus received an absolute majority of votes cast **MR. CYRIL BURAMAN** was declared elected.

GIVEN under my hand this 22nd day of January, Two Thousand and Five.

JARDEN KEPHAS <u>RETURNING OFFICER</u>