

REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY EXTRAORDINARY

No.24

4 19th March, 2007

Nauru

G.N.No. 106 / 2007

CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION ACT 2007 NOTIFICATION OF WRIT FOR ELECTION

PURSUANT TO Section 6(1) of the Constitutional Convention Act 2007, I Ryke Solomon Returning Officer, DO HEREBY notifies that I have received from the Honourable Speaker of the Parliament of Nauru, a Writ for the holding of a Constitutional Convention Election 2007. Particulars of such Writ are as follows:-

QUOTE

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION ACT 2007

WRIT FOR AN ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION

TO: The Returning Officer

Greeting!

This notice is issued to command you to cause elections to be made according to law of representatives to serve in the Constitutional Convention for the Republic of Nauru, and I appoint *Saturday, the fourteenth day of April, 2007*, to be the date when the poll (if any) for the purposes of the elections shall be taken.

Sgd. HON. VALDON K. DOWIYOGO. M.P. SPEAKER OF PARLIAMENT

Given under my hand at Nauru this fourteenth day of March, 2007.

UNQUOTE

DATED this 19th day of the month of March 2007.

<u>RYKE SOLOMON</u> <u>RETURNING OFFICER</u>

No.24

19th March, 2007

Nauru

G.N.No. 107 / 2007

<u>CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION ACT 2007</u> <u>SECTION 8 (1)</u>

APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER

IN EXERCISE OF the powers in that behalf vested in me under Section 8, Subsection (1) of the Constitutional Convention Act 2007, I, LUDWIG SCOTTY, President of the Republic of Nauru, DO HEREBY appoint Mr. Ryke Solomon, Acting Chief Secretary to be the RETURNING OFFICER for the Constitutional Convention Election 2007 to be held under and in accordance with the said Act.

Dated this 19th day of March, Two thousand and Seven.

LUDWIG SCOTTY <u>PRESIDENT</u> & <u>CHAIRMAN OF CABINET</u>

G.N.No. 108 / 2007

CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION ACT 2007 SECTION 6 (8)

APPOINTMENT OF ELECTORAL REGISTRAR & DEPUTY ELECTORAL REGISTRAR

IN EXERCISE OF the powers in that behalf vested in me under Section 6, Subsection (8) of the Constitutional Convention Act 2007, I, LUDWIG SCOTTY, President of the Republic of Nauru, DO HEREBY appoint:-

- 1. Doreen Temaki as Electoral Registrar
- 2. Lanieta Thoma as Deputy Electoral Registrar

For the Constitutional Convention Election 2007 to be held under and in accordance with the said Act.

Dated this 19th day of March, Two thousand and Seven.

LUDWIG SCOTTY <u>PRESIDENT</u> & <u>CHAIRMAN OF CABINET</u>

CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION ACT 2007 SECTION 6 14th April, 2007

NOTICE REGARDING RELEVANT DATES

IT IS NOTIFIED for general information that the following are the relevant dates in respect of the Constitutional Convention Election scheduled for Saturday, 14th April, 2007.

Date of Issue of Speaker's Writ	14 th March, 2007
Opening of the Electoral Rolls	19 th March, 2007
Closure of Electoral Rolls	24 th March, 2007
Nominations Open	26 th March, 2007
Nominations Close	31 st March, 2007
Last date of Withdrawal of Nomination	7 th April, 2007
Polling Day	14 th April, 2007

According to law, Representatives of the Constitutional Convention 2007 shall be elected for the respective constituencies as follows:-

- a) two representatives for Aiwo;
- two representatives for Anabar, Ijuw, Anibare; b)
- two representatives for Ewa, Anetan; c)
- d) two representatives for Boe;
- two representatives for Buada; e)
- two representatives for Meneng; f)
- four representatives for Ubenide; **g**)
- h) two representatives for Yaren.

DATED this Nineteenth day of the Month of April Two Thousand and Seven.

RYKE SOLOMON RETURNING OFFICER

_____ 19th March, 2007

-----G.N.No. 110 / 2007

CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION ACT 2007

CLOSING OF ROLLS

I, RYKE SOLOMON, Returning Officer, HEREBY GIVE NOTICE that pursuant to Section 6 of the Constitutional Convention Act 2007 that the Rolls will close at 12:00 noon on Saturday 24th March, 2007.

Applications for enrolment on the Electoral Roll should be made to the Electoral Registrar at the Chief Secretary's Department in Yaren District on the prescribed form.

The rolls may be inspected at the Electoral Registrar's Office (Chief Secretary's Department) between the hours of 9:00 am to 1:00 pm and 2:00pm to 5:00 pm, Monday to Friday inclusive and from 9:00 am to 12:00 noon on Saturday 24th March, 2007.

DATED this 19th day of March 2007.

RYKE SOLOMON RETURNING OFFICER