

#### REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY EXTRAORDINARY

No. 74 27<sup>th</sup> July 2007 Nauru

G.N.No. 278 / 2007

# CONSTITUTION OF NAURU (ARTICLE 41 (4)

#### **DISSOLUTION OF SIXTEENTH PARLIAMENT**

By virtue of the powers in that behalf vested in me by Article 41 (4) of the Constitution of Nauru, and all other powers enabling me, I, Valdon Dowiyogo, Speaker of Parliament, in accordance with the advice of the President of the Republic of Nauru, hereby dissolve the Sixteenth Parliament of the Republic of Nauru.

Given under my hand this twenty-seventh day of July, 2007.

# HON. VALDON DOWIYOGO M.P. SPEAKER OF PARLIAMENT

G.N.No. 279 / 2007

#### REPUBLIC OF NAURU

#### ELECTORAL ACT 1965-2007

### WRIT FOR A GENERAL ELECTION OF MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT FOR THE REPUBLIC OF NAURU

TO: RETURNING OFFICER

**GREETING!** 

THIS IS TO COMMAND YOU TO CAUSE ELECTIONS TO BE MADE ACCORDING TO THE LAW OF MEMBERS TO SERVE IN THE SEVENTEENTH PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF NAURU AND I APPOINT THE TWENTY-FIFTH DAY OF AUGUST 2007 TO BE THE DATE WHEN THE POLL (IF ANY) FOR THE PURPOSE OF THE ELECTION SHALL BE TAKEN.

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND THIS TWENTY-SEVENTH DAY OF JULY 2007.

# HON. VALDON DOWIYOGO M.P. SPEAKER OF PARLIAMENT

G.N.No. 280 / 2007

### CONSTITUTION OF NAURU (Article 39)

#### NOTICE OF GENERAL ELECTION

By virtue of the powers in that behalf vested in me by Article 39 of the Constitution of Nauru and in accordance with the advice of His Excellency the President, I, Valdon Dowiyogo, Speaker of the Parliament of Nauru, hereby give notice that a General Election of Members of Parliament will be held on the 25<sup>th</sup> day of August, 2007.

Given under my hand this twenty-seventh day of July, 2007.

#### HON. VALDON DOWIYOGO, MP <u>SPEAKER OF PARLIAMENT</u>

G.N.No. 281 / 2007

#### **CONSTITUTION OF NAURU ELECTORAL ACT 1965-2007**

Take note that by virtue of the provisions of Article 41(4) of the Constitution of Nauru, the Speaker of Parliament of the Republic of Nauru did notify for general information that, the Sixteenth Parliament stands dissolved at the end of the twenty-sixth day of July, 2007, in accordance with the advice of the President of the Republic of Nauru.

Dated this twenty-seventh day of July, 2007.

## FREDERICK CAIN CLERK OF PARLIAMENT

G.N.No. 282 / 2007

#### ELECTORAL ACT 1965-2007 SECTION 4 (1)

#### APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER

**IN EXERCISE OF** the powers in that behalf vested in me under Section 4, Subsection (1) of the Electoral Act 1965-2007, **I, LUDWIG SCOTTY**, President of the Republic of Nauru, **DO HEREBY** appoint, Camilla Solomon, Chief Secretary to be the **RETURNING OFFICER** for the General Election 2007 to be held under and in accordance with the said Act.

Dated this twenty-seventh day of July, 2007.

## LUDWIG SCOTTY PRESIDENT

G.N.No. 283/2007

#### ELECTORAL ACT 1965-2007 SECTION 4 (1)

### APPOINTMENT OF ELECTORAL REGISTRAR AND DEPUTY ELECTORAL REGISTRAR

**IN EXERCISE OF** the powers in that behalf vested in me under Section 4, Subsection (1) of the Electoral Act 1965-2007, **I, LUDWIG SCOTTY**, President of the Republic of Nauru, **DO HEREBY** appoint:-

- 1. Michael B. Cain as Electoral Registrar
- 2. Doreen Temaki as Deputy Electoral Registrar

For the General Election 2007 to be held under and in accordance with the said Act.

Dated this twenty-seventh day of July, 2007.

## LUDWIG SCOTTY PRESIDENT

G.N.No. 284 / 2007

#### ELECTORAL ACT 1965 – 2007 SECTIONS 15, 10(2) AND (3)

#### PARLIAMENTARY GENERAL ELECTION 25<sup>TH</sup> AUGUST 2007

#### NOTICE OF REGARDING RELEVANT DATES

IT IS NOTIFIED for general information that the following are the relevant dates in respect of the Seventeenth Parliament General Election Scheduled for Saturday, 25<sup>th</sup> August, 2007.

Date of Issue of Speaker's Writ 27<sup>th</sup> July, 2007

Closure of Electoral Rolls 4<sup>th</sup> August, 2007

Nominations Open 6<sup>th</sup> August, 2007

Nominations Close 11<sup>th</sup> August, 2007

Last date of Withdrawal of Nomination 18<sup>th</sup> August, 2007

Polling Day 25<sup>th</sup> August, 2007

According to law, Members of Parliament shall be elected for the respective constituencies as follows:-

- a) two members for Aiwo:
- b) two members for Anabar;
- c) two members for Anetan;
- d) two members for Boe;
- e) two members for Buada;
- f) two members for Meneng;
- g) four members for Ubenide;
- h) two members for Yaren.

DATED this twenty-seventh day of the Month of July, Two Thousand and Seven.

CAMILLA SOLOMON RETURNING OFFICER

G.N.No. 285 / 2007

#### **ELECTORAL ACT 1965 – 2007**

#### PARLIAMENTARY GENERAL ELECTION

#### **CLOSING OF ROLLS**

I, Camilla Solomon, Returning Officer, HEREBY GIVE NOTICE that pursuant to Section 10(4) and 15(2) of the Electoral Act 1965 – 2007 that the Rolls for the Seventeenth Parliamentary General Election will close at 12:00 noon on Saturday 4<sup>th</sup> August, 2007.

Applications for enrolment on the Electoral Roll should be made to the Electoral Registrar at the Chief Secretary's Department in Yaren District on the prescribed from.

The rolls may be inspected at the Electoral Registrar's Officer (Chief Secretary's Department) between the hours of 9:00 am to 1:00 pm and 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm, Monday to Friday inclusive and form 9:00 am to 12:00 noon on Saturday 4<sup>th</sup> August, 2007.

DATED this twenty-seventh day of the Month of July, Two Thousand and Seven.

CAMILLA SOLOMON RETURNING OFFICER