

REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY EXTRAORDINARY

No. 19 19th February, 2010 Nauru

G.N.No. 91 / 2010

REFERENDUM PROCEDURES (PROXY VOTING) REGULATIONS 2010

In exercise of powers under Section 29 of the *Referendum Procedures Act 2009*, Cabinet makes the following regulations:

Citation

1 These Regulations may be cited as the *Referendum Procedures (Proxy Voting)*Regulations 2010.

Commencement

These Regulations commence on the date of publication of these Regulations in the Gazette.

Modification of Electoral (Proxy Voting) Regulations 2004

- Without limiting the necessary and appropriate modifications mentioned in section 13(3) of the Act, the *Electoral (Proxy Voting) Regulations 2004*, including the form prescribed for voting by proxy under those Regulations, are modified for voting in a referendum as follows:
 - (a) a reference to a general election or by-election is taken to be a reference to a referendum;
 - (b) a reference to a polling day is taken to be a reference to referendum day;
 - (c) a reference to the Returning Officer is taken to be a reference to the returning officer under the Act;
 - (d) a reference to a Presiding Officer is taken to be a reference to a presiding officer under the Act:
 - (e) a reference to a ballot paper is taken to be a reference to a ballot paper under the Act;
 - (f) a reference to a polling place is taken to be a reference to a polling place under the Act;
 - (g) a reference to an electoral dispute is taken to be a reference to a dispute under Part 5 of the Act.

19th February, 2010 No. 19

Nauru

G.N.No. 92 / 2010

REFERENDUM PROCEDURES (PROXY VOTING) REGULATIONS 2010 **REFERENDUM PROCEDURES ACT 2009**

It is notified for general information that Pursuant to Section 2, subsection (c), clause (ii) of the Electoral (Proxy Voting) Regulation 2010, I, Michael Cain, Acting Chief Secretary, hereby appoint the following persons to be a witness for the purpose of proxy vote applications for the Referendum to be held on Saturday 27th February, 2010.

H.E. Marlene Moses, Ambassador – New York, USA

H.E. Dr. Ludwig Keke, Ambassador – Taipei, Taiwan

Mr. Jarden Kephas, High Commissioner – Suva, Fiji

Mrs. Chitra Jeremiah, Consul General – Brisbane, Australia

Ms. Lina Emiu, Vice Consul - Bangkok, Thailand

Mrs. Romys Eobob - Melbourne, Australia

Mr. Geoffrey Harris - Marshall Island

Mr. Gregory Ribauw - Kosrae

Mr. Isaac Seymour – Tuvalu

Mr. Pyon Deiye – Wellington, New Zealand

DATED this 19th day of the month of February, Two Thousand and Ten.

MICHAEL CAIN **ACTING CHIEF SECRETARY**