

REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY EXTRAORDINARY

No. 36 23rd March, 2010 Nauru

G.N.No. 143 / 2010

CONSTITUTION OF NAURU ELECTORAL ACT 1965-2007

Take note that by virtue of the provisions of Article 41(4) of the Constitution of Nauru, the Speaker of Parliament of the Republic of Nauru did notify for general information that, the Eighteenth Parliament stands dissolved at the end of the twentieth day of March, 2010, in accordance with the advice of the President of the Republic of Nauru.

Dated this Twentieth day of March, 2010.

FREDERICK CAIN CLERK OF PARLIAMENT

G.N.No. 144 / 2010

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-2007 SECTION 4(1)

APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER

IN EXERCISE OF the powers in that behalf vested in me under Section 4, Subsection (1) of the Election Act 1965-2007, I, MARCUS STEPHEN, President of the Republic of Nauru, DO HEREBY appoint MR. Michael B. Cain, Acting Chief Secretary to be the RETURNING OFFICER for the Parliamentary General Election 2010 to be held under and in accordance with the said Act.

Dated this Twenty-Second day of March, 2010.

HON. MARCUS STEPHEN M.P. <u>PRESIDENT</u>

G.N.No. 145 / 2010

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-2007 SECTION 4(1)

APPOINTMENT OF ELECTORAL REGISTRAR AND DEPUTY ELECTORAL REGISTRAR

IN EXERCISE OF the powers in that behalf vested in me under Section 4, Subsection (1) of the Electoral Act 1965-2007, I, MARCUS STEPHEN, President of the Republic of Nauru, DO HEREBY appoint:-

- 1. Doreen Temaki as Electoral Registrar
- 2. Brangina Bagaga as Deputy Electoral Registrar

For the General Election 2010 to be held under and in accordance with the said Act.

Dated this Twenty-Second day of March, 2010.

HON. MARCUS STEPHEN M.P. PRESIDENT

G.N.No. 146 / 2010

ELECTORAL ACT 1965 – 2007 SECTIONS 15, 10(2) AND (3)

PARLIAMENTARY GENERAL ELECTION 24TH APRIL 2010

NOTICE OF REGARDING RELEVANT DATES

IT IS NOTIFIED for general information that the following are the relevant dates in respect of the Nineteenth Parliament General Election scheduled for Saturday 24th April, 2010.

Date of Issue of Speaker's Writ - Saturday

20th March, 2010

Closure of Electoral Rolls - Saturday, 12.00 noon

3rd April, 2010

Nominations Close - Saturday, 12.00 noon

10th April, 2010

Last date for Withdrawal of Nominations - Saturday, 12.00 noon

17th April, 2010

Polling Day - Saturday, 1.00 pm - 6.00 pm

24th April, 2010

According to law, Members of Parliament shall be elected for the respective constituencies as follows:-

- a) two members for Aiwo;
- b) two members for Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare;
- c) two members for Ewa/Anetan;
- d) two members for Boe;
- e) two members for Buada;
- f) two members for Meneng;
- g) four members for Ubenide;
- h) two members for Yaren.

DATED this 22nd day of March, Two Thousand and Ten.

MICHAEL B. CAIN RETURNING OFFICER

G.N.No. 147 / 2010

ELECTORAL ACT 1965 – 2007

PARLIAMENTARY GENERAL ELECTION

CLOSING OF ROLLS

I, **DOREEN TEMAKI**, Electoral Registrar, **HEREBY GIVE NOTICE** that pursuant to Section 10(4) and 15(2) of the Electoral Act 1965 – 2007 that the Rolls for the Nineteenth Parliamentary General Election will close at 12:00 noon on Saturday 3rd April, 2010.

Applications for enrolment on the Electoral Roll should be made to the Electoral Registrar at the Chief Secretary's Department in Yaren District on the prescribed form.

The rolls may be inspected at the Electoral Registrar's Office (Chief Secretary's Department) between the hours of 9:00 am to 1:00 pm and 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm, Monday to Friday inclusive and from 9:00 am to 12:00 noon on Saturday 3rd April, 2010.

DATED this 23rd day of March, 2010.

DOREEN TEMAKI ELECTORAL REGISTRAR

G.N.No. 148 / 2010

ELECTORAL ACT 1965-1973

APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OF ENROLMENT

This is to advise for the information of the General Public that the following procedures must be adhered to when submitting an application for transfer of enrolment:

- 1. The application form can be collected from the Office of the Electoral Registrar at the Chief Secretary's Office.
- 2. Applicant has to pay a fee of \$10/-(Ten dollar) at the Revenue office and attach the original receipt along with the application form.
- 3. Applicant has to present in person in front of the Electoral Registrar, Mrs. Doreen Temaki and must sign the application in front of the Electoral Registrar
- 4. The Electoral Registrar will verify the details and if satisfied will certify the application for further processing.
- 5. The applicant in person has to submit the application certified by the Electoral Registrar to any two Ministers for obtaining the consent of the Ministers.
- 6. After obtaining the consent of two Ministers, the application has to be submitted by the applicant to the Electoral Registrar to include the name in the Electoral Roll

Please note that it is very important that the person who wishes to transfer the name to another constituency has to present himself or herself in front of the Electoral Registrar and in front of the Ministers.

If the applicant does not present himself/herself in person, the application for transfer will not be entertained.

The Electoral Roll will be closed on 3rd April, 2010 and all applications to transfer must be completed before 12 noon on Saturday 3rd April, 2010

Dated this 23rd day of March, 2010.

DOREEN TEMAKI ELECTORAL REGISTRAR