

#### REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY EXTRAORDINARY

No. 70

11<sup>th</sup> June, 2010

\_\_\_\_\_

\_\_\_\_\_

Nauru

G.N.No. 294 / 2010

\_\_\_\_\_

# CONSTITUTION OF NAURU PART IX

# **EMERGENCY POWERS**

## PRESIDENTIAL ORDER 4 ARTICLE 78

# WRIT FOR A GENERAL ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

### TO: RETURNING OFFICER,

### **GREETING!**

Following the public proclamation made on 11 June 2010 under my hand in exercise of my powers under Article 77(1) of the Constitution of Nauru declaring a State of Emergency, and by virtue of Presidential Order 1 issued on 11 June 2010 in exercise of my powers under Article 78(1) dissolving the 19<sup>th</sup> Parliament of the Republic of Nauru, this order is to command you to cause elections to be made to elect members of Parliament to serve in the Twentieth Parliament of the Republic of Nauru and I appoint Saturday 19<sup>th</sup> June 2010 to be the date when the poll for the purposes of the said elections shall be taken.

Given under my hand this Eleventh day of June, 2010.

### HON. MARCUS STEPHEN MP <u>PRESIDENT</u>

No. 70

11<sup>th</sup> June, 2010

Nauru

\_\_\_\_\_

G.N.No. 295 / 2010

\_\_\_\_\_

\_\_\_\_\_

### CONSTITUTION OF NAURU PART IX

#### **EMERGENCY POWERS**

### PRESIDENTIAL ORDER 5 ARTICLE 78

#### **ELECTION DATES**

A State of Emergency having been declared under Article 77(1) of the Constitution of Nauru and, further to Presidential Order 1 issued in exercise of the powers vested in me under Article 78(1) of the Constitution of Nauru by which the 19<sup>th</sup> Parliament of Nauru was dissolved, I MARCUS STEPHEN, President of the Republic of Nauru hereby order that the dates and respective deadlines for the General Elections shall be as follows:

Issue of the President's Writ	11 June 2010 (issued under Presidential Order 4)
Closure of the Electoral Rolls	11 June 2010, 1:30pm (closed under Presidential Order 1)
Nominations open	11 June 2010, 2:30pm
Nominations close	14 June 2010, 2:30pm
Withdrawal of nominations close	15 June 2010, 2:30pm
Returning Officer receipt of proxies	18 June 2010, 12:00pm
Polling Day	19 June 2010, polls open 11:00am; polls close 6:00pm

This order has effect notwithstanding any inconsistency with any provision of the Electoral Act or any other law.

Given under my hand this Eleventh day of June, 2010.

# HON. MARCUS STEPHEN MP <u>PRESIDENT</u>

No. 70

11<sup>th</sup> June, 2010

G.N.No. 296 / 2010

\_\_\_\_\_

### **CONSTITUTION OF NAURU** PART IX **EMERGENCY POWERS**

# **PRESIDENTIAL ORDER 6 ARTICLE 78**

### APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY RETURNING OFFICER, ELECTORAL REGISTRAR, **DEPUTY ELECTORAL REGISTRAR**

A State of Emergency having been declared under Article 77(1) of the Constitution of Nauru and a General Election having been called for 19 June 2010 under Presidential Order 4, and being satisfied that this order is reasonably required to safeguard the interests of the community, by virtue of the powers vested in me under Article 78(1) of the Constitution of Nauru, I MARCUS STEPHEN, President of the Republic of Nauru hereby order as follows:

- 1. Sasi Kumar and Marolyn Harris are appointed as Deputy Returning Officers.
- 2. Doreen Temaki is appointed as Electoral Registrar.
- 3. Antonius Atuen. Maybir is appointed as Deputy Electoral Registrar.

Given under my hand this Eleventh day of June, 2010.

### HON. MARCUS STEPHEN MP PRESIDENT

Nauru 

\_\_\_\_\_

No. 70

#### 11<sup>th</sup> June, 2010

G.N.No. 297 / 2010

\_\_\_\_\_

#### **CONSTITUTION OF NAURU** PART IX **EMERGENCY POWERS**

## **PRESIDENTIAL ORDER 7 ARTICLE 78**

A State of Emergency having been declared under Article 77(1) of the Constitution of Nauru and, being satisfied that this order is reasonably required to safeguard the interests of the community, by virtue of the powers vested in me under Article 78(1) of the Constitution of Nauru, I MARCUS STEPHEN, President of the Republic of Nauru hereby order -

- 1. The sum of \$3,000,000 is hereby withdrawn from the Treasury Fund for the purpose of expenditure in the following manner:
  - a. Presidency and State House (incl. GIO) (Head 1) \$50,000
  - b. Chief Secretariat Secretariat (Head 3) \$100,000
  - \$200,000 c. Finance - Public Debt (Head 12)
  - d. Justice Secretariat (Head 43)
  - e. Media Bureau (Head 83) \$100,000
  - f. Maritime Transport (Head 93) \$2,500,000
- 2. Such expenditure is in addition to the amounts appropriated by the Appropriation Act 2009-2010.
- 3. Any sum so withdrawn and not expended prior to 1 July 2010 shall be returned to the Treasury Fund.
- 4. Cabinet may authorise the transfer of an amount from a subhead within a particular Head to another subhead within the same Head.
- 5. The Minister responsible for finance must table in Parliament a copy of any authorisation made under paragraph 4 at the earliest practicable opportunity.

Given under my hand this Eleventh day of June, 2010.

### HON. MARCUS STEPHEN MP PRESIDENT

Nauru

\_\_\_\_\_

\$50,000