

REPUBLIC OF NAURU GOVERNMENT GAZETTE PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY EXTRAORDINARY

No.139

12thAugust 2019

Nauru

G.N.No. 581/2019

PUBLIC SERVICE ACT 2016 Section 81(1)(k)

PUBLIC HOLIDAY FOR IBUMIN EAROENI DAY (DAY OF THE TRIBES)

WHEREAS the Republic of Nauru's matrilineal system is an integral and intrinsic part of Nauru; **WHEREAS** the Republic of Nauru originally had 12 Tribes and which are currently recognised and symbolised as a 12 pointed star on the national Flag;

Tribe	Population
Iruwa	4450
Eamwit	3052
Eamwitmwit	1939
Emea	1071
Deiboe	1029
Eano	350
Eoaru	290
Eamwidira	280
Emangum	198
Ranibok	109
Irutsi	Extinct
Iwi	Extinct

NOW THEREFORE PURSUANT to the powers vested in me under Section 81(1)(k) of the *Public Service Act 2016*, I, Hon. Baron Divavesi Waqa, MP, President of the Republic of Nauru, **DO HEREBY DECLARE** that commencing from Monday, 19th August 2019, each successive year on the 19th day of August, is to be a **PUBLIC HOLIDAY** to be observed by officers and employees of the Public Service and other instrumentalities of the Republic, to commemorate *Ibumin Earoeni* day, a day to remember Nauru's tribal lineage and to honour our matrilineal system.

DATED this 9th day of August 2019.

HON. BARON DIVAVESI WAQA, M.P. <u>PRESIDENT</u>