CHAPTER No. 8.

Town Boundaries.

GENERAL ANNOTATION.

ADMINISTRATION.

As at 13 February 1976 (the date of gazettal of the most comprehensive allocation of responsibilities to Ministers and Departments at about the effective date), the administration of this Chapter was vested in the Minister for Natural Resources.

Accordingly, unless some other intention is clearly indicated, by note or in the text, as at that date references in or in relation to this Chapter to—

"the Minister"—should be read as references to the Minister for Natural Resources;

"the Departmental Head"—should be read as references to the Secretary for Natural Resources¹;

"the Department"—should be read as references to the Department of Natural Resources².

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

	Page.
Town Boundaries Act	3
Regulations	_
Subsidiary Legislation	7
Appendix—	
Source of Act.	

¹ Previously Director of Lands, Surveys and Mines.

² Previously the Department of Lands, Surveys and Mines.

CHAPTER No. 8.

Town Boundaries Act.

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS.

1. Declaration of towns, etc.

CHAPTER No. 8.

Town Boundaries Act.

Being an Act to provide for the declaration of towns and their boundaries.

1. Declaration of towns, etc.

The Minister may, by notice in the National Gazette-

- (a) declare a place in the country to be a town; and
- (b) define the boundaries of a town.

.) .

6

Chapter No. 8.

Town Boundaries.

SUBSIDIARY LEGISLATION.

Act, Section 1.—Declarations of towns and definition of boundaries.

Boundaries as gazetted
15.5.1924 (N.G.).
No.46/20.8.1970.
No.56/31.10.1957.
No.110/21.12.1972.
No.11/27.2.1958.
No.49/30.10.1958.
No.38/23.7.1964.
No.29/3.6.1971.
No.25/31.5.1962.
No.21/20.11.1975.
No.24/24.5.1956.
No. 32/29.5.1952.
No.52/17.9.1970.
No.47/27.9.1962.
No.72/24.8.1972.
No.51/12.10.1967.
No.53/15.10.1964.
No.24/6.5.1971.
No.25/31.5.1962.
No.14/19.3.1964.
No.7/25.1.1973.
No.17/1.4.1971.
No.16/20.3.1969.
No.12/4.3.1971.
No.48/14.8.1969.
30.9.1924 (N.G.)
No.32/29.5.1952.
No.40/17.8.1961.
No.25/5.5.1966.
No.28/11.6.1964.
No.69/21.12.1967.
No.97/9.11.1972.
No.87/27.12.1974.
No.26/25.6.1959.
No.83/28.9.1972.
No.29/20.6.1963.
No.13/14.3.1963.
No.17/11.4.1963.
15.5.1924 (N.G.)
No.110/21.12.1972.
No.16/20.3.1969.
15.5.1924 (N.G.)
No.12/19.8.1971.
No.12/23.10.1975.
No.65/7.12.1967.
No.17/4.4.1968.
No.25/5.5.1966.

¹ Except where "(N.G.)" follows the date, the reference is to the Territory of Papua and New Guinea Government Gazette, the Papua New Guinea Government Gazette or the National Gazette. "(N.G.)" indicates "New Guinea Gazette".

Ch. No. 8

Town Boundaries

Towns.
Rabaul
Salamaua
Samarai
Sohana
Talasea
Tapini
Vanimo
Wapenamanda
Warengoi
Wau
Wewak
Woitape

Boundaries as gazetted: No.14/19.3.1964. No.50/8.10.1953. No.32/29.5.1952. No.7/3.2.1955. No.37/9.8.1962. No.15/28.3.1963. No.59/17.11.1966. No.17/2.4.1970. No.41/30.8.1962. No.30/17.6.1965. No.64/22.12.1966. No.33/11.7.1963.

CHAPTER NO. 8.

Town Boundaries.

APPENDIX.

SOURCE OF THE TOWN BOUNDARIES ACT.

Part A.—Previous Legislation.

Town Boundaries Act 1951 (No. 51 of 1951)

as amended by—

Town Boundaries Act 1952 (No. 89 of 1952).

Part B.—Cross References.

Section, etc., in Revised Edition.	Previous Reference.1
1	5

